Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Mapboards
05-14-2013, 01:00 AM,
Mapboards
I am building a larger size version of Red Steel, a game a friend highly recommended on BGG.

Redoing the counters, charts, and rulebook should be fairly easy but I have limited experience doing maps. The final map will be 33"x51" (50% size increase from the original) and I was wondering if anyone has experience making large maps and want to share some tricks and tips.

Thanks!
05-14-2013, 02:54 AM,
RE: Mapboards
Duhnt Da Da!

Well Dan, how deep do you want to go? Mostly I've focused on counters, but I have done a couple maps for different games.
The quickest option may be HexDraw. It is fairly easy to use, and has been quite stable for years.
My current Favorite is Inkscape, with the Pelle Nilsson map extension. I like it because the finished map is scaleable. Working with the different layers is quite easy. Work through the BGG thread for more information. Pelle also has a counter plugin which you may find useful.
The drawing tool in LibreOffice is good. The zooming is a little clunky. Customizing colors and bitmaps is a little difficult. Once you master it, the results are acceptable.
At some point, you will want to visit John Cooper's game site. I found[/size] the terrain tiles especially useful.
... More and more, people around the world are coming to realize that the world is flat! Winking
05-15-2013, 12:14 AM,
Thanks for the HexDraw link; I will take a look.

My questions:

1. I have a choice of scanning the existing map in sections and then stitching the sections together before I increase the map size, or simply starting from scratch. Which technique gives better results? Time is not an issue.