Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Best way to attack?
07-16-2016, 06:00 AM,
Best way to attack?
I'm brand new to PG and am struggling to mount effective attacks either assault or DF in Kokoda Campaign. Can anyone give me some pointers as to how to attack in the jungle? Thanks in advance.
07-16-2016, 08:42 AM,
RE: Best way to attack?
Please select a scenario we can use as an example.

I may be able to answer late tonight or, more likely, Sunday.
07-16-2016, 08:57 PM,
As Daniel mentions, if you are looking at a particular situation it will help to have a scenario to consider.  The following is more of a general response.

Kokoda, with the jungle rules in full effect, is difficult.  The Australians in the early scenarios typically don't have to attack often and when they do, it can be a very haphazard affair.  The Japanese on the other hand, with their superior morale and INF assault bonus can be extremely effective in assault.  A single platoon can effectively assault surviving the likely morale checks, thus pinning the Australian player while the remaining Japanese fight their way through the jungle (and the disorientation rules!) and ultimately join the assault.

The later scenario Australians, where the regulars with their higher morale dominate the force, can also assault with smaller packages and reasonably expect to survive until the remaining forces can join.  The one technique that works in other PG games of "softening up" the defender through bombardment and/or direct fire, is unlikely to occur in KC.  The attacking force rarely has the time to set up coordinated fire groups, and to wait to assault until the defender is disrupted or demoralized.  If one is so lucky as to be in a position to do so that is great and you should take advantage of it but don't wait for that to happen or you might wait all game.