Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Liberation, the game that saved PG
07-17-2015, 12:20 AM,
Liberation, the game that saved PG
The Daily Content for July 14th was a publisher's preview of Liberation 44.  Being a compulsive hobbyist, I printed it out and added it to the file I keep for that game (there are about 80 notebooks in my man-cave).  I put it right next to the FIRST publisher's preview of Liberation 44, done years ago.  In it Mike was proudly announcing the arrival of PG fourth edition counters, deluxe thick tiles more than twice the thickness of standard counters.  This was to be the new standard for fourth edition games.  The feedback he got loud and clear was that the new counters were so much thicker than the earlier ones that they would make 4th edition PG physically incompatible with earlier products.  As a result, the brief experiment with monumental counters at Avalanche press came to a halt.  4th edition came to mean new rules and tables only, with color terrain charts.
07-17-2015, 06:18 AM,
RE: Liberation, the game that saved PG
Given the problems with the dark maps and the absurdly thick counters it would make more sense to say, "Liberation, the game that nearly killed PG."
07-17-2015, 06:50 AM, (This post was last modified: 07-25-2015, 10:40 AM by larry marak.)
Like all good aphorisms, both observations acknowledge the same thing...i.e., great minds run in the same channel, or only fools think alike; one man's meat is another man's poison, but sauce for a goose is sauce for a gander.

Imagine having to keep completely separate your 3rd and 4th edition counters from 2 years ago on up.
07-17-2015, 07:07 AM, (This post was last modified: 07-17-2015, 07:07 AM by campsawyer.)
(07-17-2015, 06:18 AM)joe_oppenheimer Wrote: Given the problems with the dark maps and the absurdly thick counters it would make more sense to say, "Liberation, the game that nearly killed PG."