Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
good scenario design
01-29-2015, 04:40 AM,
good scenario design
I am a PG noob, although a very experienced wargamer, including many other tactical systems. I think an interesting topic for discussion is what distinguishes a well-designed scenario from one that is not well-designed. I searched the PG forums and didn't find much discussion about this. I acknowledge this could be because of my own limited capacity for conducting an effective search; if so, I welcome responses that point to other threads about good scenario design.

Hopefully though this is a fairly fresh topic. The PG-HQ database is great, and if accurate indicates what people like. Certainly though a real discussion beats data mining; after all, people often don't indicate in the database *why* they like a certain scenario.

What do you think are features of well-designed PG scenarios? What are examples of scenarios you consider well-designed, and why? Which PG designers do you think are the best? Which PG modules or books do you think have the highest proportion of well-designed scenarios?
01-29-2015, 09:28 AM,
RE: good scenario design
While I do not qualify as to say whether a scenario is well-designed or not, I do have preferences:

I like scenarios in which both sides have a reasonable chance at victory. I am not asking for a perfect balance (an impossibility with randomly selected leaders), just that reasonable play on both sides will not always lead to one side winning the scenario. The totally unbalanced scenarios are becoming much more rare and the designers and developers are to be thanked for that.

In general, I prefer scenarios with multiple objectives over those with victory points, especially if objectives are written in such a way that trying to meet one will make it more difficult to meet another.

I love scenarios with reinforcements, even more so if the reinforcements arrive on a die-roll. The die roll adds to the uncertainty.